I’m Bad At This

Sorry, family, friends and the strangers who are apparently reading my blog: I have been too cool to write for the past week.

Mountain Lassie was City Lady for an evening, when she attended the premiere of a small film she worked on. It’s about a cappella. Maybe you’ve heard of it, and maybe not. If not, you should educate yourself pronto so you are not left behind.

The next few days we were blessed with visitors of all shapes and sizes, one of whom brought me a large bag of hand-me-downs nicer than most things I purchase for myself. After convincing myself via a fashion show with myself and my dog that I do deserve to wear bcbg, I am a much more presentable woman. Now if only I had somewhere to wear these new labels…

On Friday I met Lou, a 92-year old who was walking his dog Zukie around the lake path. He and Zukie set up shop near Tilley and I, Tilley obviously paying no mind to Zukie, as Tilley is a hermaphrodite and at times appears to have some sort of chemical imbalance which makes him immune to playing with strange dogs. That or he’s just too cool (scared) to be bothered. I mean, he/she’s got rocks to sniff.
I digress. Lou will be 93 in January. He bent down countless times to throw a stick into the lake for Zukie to fetch. He recently had a stroke and apologized for any difficulties I may have deciphering his words. His wife was waiting in the car in the parking lot listening to the election coverage on the radio. Over the course of 45 minutes, I learned a lot about Lou, most importantly that he goes to the lake almost every day. I cannot wait to see him again.

I spent this weekend here in the woods with two lovely lady friends. We sang, we danced, we puked. We also played McDonald’s Monopoly, burned at the beach, and lost my dog for a minute. A fantastic time was had by all.

I’ve come to the conclusion that despite the fact that I without a doubt consider myself an introvert (INFJ, to be exact), I do in fact sometimes thrive off of…others. Being around others, that is. And on my own terms. Uninvited social time does not always do it for me, in fact I often end up wanting to be anywhere but where I am. But dressing up and going out and having fancy food and drinks and pulling in at 6am on Tuesday to find that I didn’t have the foresight to bring my house keys and have thus locked myself of the house?? Oddly invigorating. Memories of which bring nothing but the biggest grin to my face. A girl needs to let loose sometimes.

Sadly, tomorrow it is back to the grind of attempting to find a job, willing my lungs into giving me enough oxygen to run properly up here, and trying to find another soul in this town that might want to play volleyball with me. Seriously, no one here plays volleyball?

Wish me luck. If past weeks are any indication, I will be doing my darndest to do anything but the above.

you know you love me
xoxo
gossip girl

..shit, sorry, that must have been the 4 episodes i just watched. that’s embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

