Morning Motivation

When it comes time to take on a new challenge, namely a physical one, I am a pro at immediately doubting my abilities. “But what if I can’t do it?” “There’s no way I can do THAT!” “What?? You want me to do what??” But by some stroke of hidden self-confidence, I always finish what I came out to do.

I not only ran the 6 miles I was terrified to run up here a couple of months ago, I’ve now run 13 miles up here and regularly head out for 6-8 mile jogs during the week. Earlier this summer I was pretty damn scared of altitude sickness on Kilimanjaro. I made it to the top (and only puked twice, but attribute that to the intestinal bacterial infection I picked up along the way). Those jump squats? Ok so I can’t yet do 6 sets of 15, but I’m up to 5 sets of 10.

Point is, I have a heckuva habit of saying I can’t do something. And then I do it. Always. Wouldn’t it be so much easier to start out by just telling myself that I CAN do it? Gosh, the anxiety and stomachaches I would save myself!

And THIS is what gets me outta the house every day.

Leave a Reply

