Packet Pick Up Problem

I’ve decided to throw in one more race before the holidays. It’s a holiday-themed 5k and while it is far away and was way too expensive, I just couldn’t help myself. I’m kind of addicted. At least it’s a healthy addiction? (Though my wallet would say otherwise)

Ok so I have a question for you. This race is 2 1/2 hours away from home (I’m insane). I have a wonderful dog who will have to stay at home, and so I will drive in the morning of. Whenever I possibly can, I pick up my race packet the day before – I hate the stress of running around pre-race. In this situation, however, due to the distance, I planned on picking up my packet morning-of. To my surprise, I saw that there was a $20 fee to pick up your packet on the morning of the race. In years past they’ve gotten themselves into a pickle with too many runners picking up in the morning, and so this is their way of deterring people from waiting til the last minute. For those in the LA area, they will also be holding packet pick ups there over the weekend (this option is free). But I’m still 1 1/2 hours from LA! I mean, I TOTALLY get it – no one likes a late race, and I understand how crazy race logistics get. But $20?? What about those of us who don’t have many options? Unfortunately I don’t know anyone else running the race, or I would have them grab my bib. But now I’m forced to choose between paying $20 to pick up the morning-of or drive 3-hours round trip the day before. Ugh. I can’t afford the registration as it is! 

Anyway – this 5k is the little sister to the day’s main event – the half-marathon. I don’t think I’m ready for another one of those quite yet. This race is mostly to help me figure out if the 5k I ran at Universal earlier this month was a fluke or if I am in fact becoming a stronger runner. Plus it’s a good excuse to go down the mountain and see some friends. Ah! I just realized in this moment that the race is less than 2 weeks away. Where IS the time going?? I’d better get some jump squats in pronto!

Leave a Reply

